Benny and Björn reunited for Eurovision anthem

15 04 2013


Abba stars Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus have reunited to compose the theme tune for the Eurovision Song Contest 2013, in Malmö.


Abba members Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus have composed the theme tune for the Eurovision Song Contest 2013, a song called We Write the Story.

Andersson and Ulvaeus have collaborated with Swedish DJ Avicii on the track, which isn’t Sweden’s entry in the competition, but instead a “Eurovision anthem” which celebrates the country’s hosting of the competition in Malmö. It will be performed to open the Eurovision final on May 18.

Executive producer of this year’s contest, Martin Österdahl, said in a statement that Andersson, Ulvaeus and Avicii were at “the very top of the list” of musicians to create the anthem, an idea which has been present since Malmö contest planning got under way.

Andersson and Ulvaeus added that We Write the Story was a “piece of mutual understanding and fellowship” and “a lot of fun and very inspiring”.


The pair have been collaborating together since Abba dissolved in 1982 after a final public performance on British TV, although the band appeared together again in 2008 at the Mamma Mia! film premiere.

Eurovision was a big part of Abba’s success story, after they won the contest in 1974, marking Sweden’s first victory. However the band are adamant that a formal live reunion is unlikely to happen, much to the disappointment of their fans.

Among Andersson and Ulvaeus’s accomplishments in the last 30 years are the single I Know Him So Well – a duet sung by Barbara Dickson and Elaine Paige as well as Barbra Streisand and Whitney Houston – and West End and Broadway musicals Chess and Mamma Mia!.



%d bloggers like this: